Dec 3, 2023, 09:29 PM IST

Who Will Be Chhattisgarh CM? BJP’s 5 Probable Candidates 

Heena Sharma

1. Arun Sao 

The 54-year-old Arun Sao is an OBC face and hails from Mungeli district. In November 2022, the first-time Member of Parliament from Bilaspur, was appointed as the head of the BJP’s state unit. 

2. Raman Singh 

The 71-year-old Rajput and former chief minister of the state Raman Singh had defeated former MP chief minister Motilal Vora in the 1999 general elections and became minister in PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s government.

3. OP Choudhary 

OP Choudhary, a 2005 batch IAS officer, contested against INC’s Prakash Shakrajeet Naik in Raigarh. The former civil servant-turned-politician, who joined the BJP in 2018, is also in the running for CM’s post. 

4. Vijay Baghel 

Vijay Baghel, a BJP MP from Chhattisgarh’s Durg, is the nephew of Congress CM Bhupesh Baghel. The Baghels have a history of electoral clashes. They contested elections in both 2008 and 2013, each securing a victory once. 

5. Vishnu Deo Sai 

Vishnu Deo Sai, the BJP’s tribal face in the state, is a potential candidate for the CM position. His political journey began when he was elected unopposed as the Sarpanch of Bagia village.